Contributors Issue 6


Contributors – Issue 6

Will Burns:

Will Burns was born in London and raised in Buckinghamshire. He didn’t finish his English degree, choosing instead to start a band with his brother, releasing two albums. He worked in factories, cleaning windows and painting houses before settling in the music industry. He likes sports and ornithology and is proud to be Poet-In-Residence at Caught By The River and Festival No.6. His poems have been published by Structo Magazine, South Bank Poetry, The Illustrated Ape and the Independent Online, and he has appeared at the Glastonbury, Port Eliot, End of the Road and Green Man Festivals. He was named as one of the Faber New Poets for 2014.

Paul Farley:

Paul Farley was born in Liverpool. He has published four books of poetry: The Boy from the Chemist is Here to See You, The Ice Age, Tramp in Flames and The Dark Film. His poems for radio are collected in Field Recordings: BBC Poems 1998-2008 and a Selected Poems, The Atlantic Tunnel, was published in the US by Farrar, Straus & Giroux in 2010. His most recent book, The Dark Film (Picador, 2012) was shortlisted for the T.S Eliot Prize for Poetry 2012.

Paul has written and presented many programmes for the BBC, and is a frequent guest on magazine arts programmes such as Saturday Review, The Verb and Front Row. He currently presents The Echo Chamber on BBC Radio 4, a series on contemporary poetry. In 2012, Paul was invited to become a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Patrick Ryan Frank:

Patrick Ryan Frank is the author of How the Losers Love What’s Lost, which won the 2010 Intro Prize from Four Way Books; and The Opposite of People, to be published by Four Way Books in 2015. He was recently a Fulbright Fellow to Iceland, and currently lives in Austin, Texas. For more information, see

Fanny Howe:

Fanny Howe is the author of more than 20 books of poetry and prose. She grew up in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and studied at Stanford University. Her collections of poetry include Second Childhood (2014), Come and See (2011), On the Ground (2004), Gone (2003), Selected Poems (2000), Forged (1999), Q (1998), One Crossed Out (1997), O’Clock (1995), and The End (1992). Her 2014 collection, Second Childhood, has been selected as a finalist for the National Book Award.

Fanny is the author of many novels, including Nod, The Deep North, Famous Questions, Saving History, and Indivisible. She has written short stories, books for young adults, and the collection of literary essays The Wedding Dress: Meditations on Word and Life (2003) and The Winter Sun: Notes on a Vocation (2009).

Her Selected Poems won the 2001 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize. In 2001 and 2005, Howe was shortlisted for the Griffin Poetry Prize, and in 2008 she won an Award in Literature from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. She was awarded the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize in 2009.

David Kirby:

David Kirby’s collection The House on Boulevard St.: New and Selected Poems was a finalist for the National Book Award in 2007. Kirby is the author of Little Richard: The Birth of Rock ‘n’ Roll, which the Times Literary Supplement of London called “a hymn of praise to the emancipatory power of nonsense.” His most recent poetry collection is A Wilderness of Monkeys. For more information, see

Tarn W. Painter-MacArthur:

Tarn W. Painter-MacArthur’s work has most recently appeared in Fogged Clarity Arts Review and been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize. He’s the recipient of the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Award, and was the 2013-14 Walter and Nancy Kidd Fellow in Creative Writing at the University of Oregon. From Montréal, he currently lives in Edinburgh where he’s researching his family’s history on the Isle of St. Kilda.

Ladette Randolph:

Ladette Randolph is the author of four books: two novels, a short story collection, and, most recently, a book of nonfiction, Leaving the Pink House. The editor-in-chief of Ploughshares, she is on the faculty of the Writing, Literature, and Publishing department at Emerson College. She is the recipient of a Pushcart Prize, two Nebraska Book Awards, a Virginia Faulkner Award, and a Rona Jaffe grant.

Angela Voras-Hills:

Angela Voras-Hills earned her MFA at UMass-Boston and was a fellow at the Writers’ Room of Boston. Her work has appeared in Kenyon Review Online, Best New Poets 2013, Hayden’s Ferry Review, and Linebreak, among other journals. She received the 2013 Spring Promise Award from the Sustainable Arts Foundation and currently lives with her family in Madison, WI.

Alice Willington:

Alice Willington has been writing poems since a dark autumn evening in 2005, when her mind began to invert imagery. She won second prize in the 2009 Ledbury Poetry Competition and in 2012 was included in Lung Jazz, an anthology of British poets under forty, published by Cinnamon Press and edited by Todd Swift and Kim Lockwood. She has a poem in the forthcoming edition of Magma, and she has also been published in Horizon Review, New Linear Perspectives and Molossus. She has a Masters in Creative Writing from the University of Oxford and her first degree was from the University of Edinburgh. She lives in Oxford and works in London, and reads and writes (but does not do arithmetic) on the X90 coach service between the two.

Greg Wrenn:

Greg Wrenn is the author of Centaur. A Jones Lecturer at Stanford University, he has received the Brittingham Prize in Poetry and a Stegner Fellowship. His poems and essays have appeared in The Best American Poetry 2014, The American Poetry Review, AGNI, Kenyon Review, The New Republic, and elsewhere. He is currently working on a book of linked essays about coral reefs, the impermanence of beauty, and human destiny.