Contributors Issue 3


Contributors – Issue 3

Maryann Corbett:

Maryann Corbett’s first full-length collection of poems, Breath Control, was published in 2012 by David Robert Books and was featured on the First Books Panel that year at the West Chester Poetry Conference. Her second book, Credo for the Checkout Line in Winter, was a finalist for the Able Muse Book Prize and has just been released. Her poetry has received the Lyric Memorial Award and the Willis Barnstone Translation Prize. Recent work appears in 32 Poems, PN Review (UK), and Modern Poetry in Translation (UK) and is forthcoming in Barrow Street and Southwest Review, among others. Maryann lives in Saint Paul and works for the Minnesota Legislature.

Fred D’Aguiar:

Fred D’Aguiar is a British-Guyanese poet, novelist and playwright. The Rose of Toulouse (Carcanet 2013) is his sixth collection. Children of Paradise, a novel, will be published by Granta in 2014. He teaches at Virginia Tech. For more see

Joe Dresner:

Joe Dresner was born in 1987 in Sunderland and now lives and works in London. He is published or forthcoming in Poetry Review, Ambit, Stand and Stop Sharpening Your Knives 5.

Philip Gross:

Philip Gross is Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University. His latest collection is Later, published by Bloodaxe in September 2013. He has published seven other books with Bloodaxe, including Deep Field (2011), a Poetry Book Society Recommendation, which was shortlisted for the Roland Mathias Poetry Award (Wales Book of the Year); The Water Table (2009), winner of the T.S. Eliot Prize; The Egg of Zero (2006); Mappa Mundi (2003), a Poetry Book Society Recommendation; and Changes of Address: Poems 1980-1998 (2001), his selection from earlier books including The Ice Factory, Cat’s Whisker, The Son of the Duke of Nowhere, I.D. and The Wasting Game.

Cynthia Marie Hoffman:

Cynthia Marie Hoffman’s first book, Sightseer, won the Lexi Rudnitsky First Book Prize in Poetry. Her second book, Paper Doll Fetus, is forthcoming from Persea Books in 2014. Hoffman has been a Diane Middlebrook Poetry Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing, the recipient of a Wisconsin Arts Board Individual Artist Fellowship, and a Director’s Guest at the Civitella Ranieri Center in Italy. Her work has appeared as an Intro Feature in Pleiades, an internal chapbook in Mid-American Review, and in Fence, The Missouri Review, The Journal, and elsewhere.

Ian McGuire:

Ian McGuire is co-founder and co-director of the University of Manchester’s Centre for New Writing. His stories have previously been published in The Chicago Review, The Paris Review and elsewhere. His novel Incredible Bodies was published by Bloomsbury in 2006, and his new book on American novelist Richard Ford — “Richard Ford and the Ends of Realism” — is forthcoming from the University of Iowa Press.

Linda Pastan:

Linda Pastan’s 13th book, Traveling Light, was published in January 2011. She was Poet Laureate of Maryland from 1991-1995. In 2003 she won the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize.

Robert Pinsky:

Robert Pinsky’s most recent publications are Singing School, an anthology for poets, and his Selected Poems. On his CD PoemJazz he performs with Grammy-winning pianist Laurence Hobgood.

Ian Seed:

Ian Seed teaches Italian Studies and Creative Writing at Lancaster University, and edits the online magazine Shadowtrain ( His poetry, fiction and translations have appeared in a wide range of magazines and anthologies. He has published three books of poetry: Sleeping with the Ice Cream Vendor (Knives, Forks and Spoons Press, 2012), Shifting Registers (Shearsman, 2011) and Anonymous Intruder (Shearsman, 2009). Also available are two chapbooks of short fiction, Threadbare Fables (Like This Press, 2012) and Amore mio (Flax ebooks, 2010).